When the RM rolls a new AMRM secret, it conveys this to the AMs when it notices they are still connected with the old key. However neither the RM nor the AM explicitly close the connection or otherwise try to reconnect with the new secret. Therefore the RM keeps thinking the AM doesn't have the new token on every heartbeat and keeps sending new tokens for the period between the key roll and the key activation. Once activated the RM no longer squawks in its logs about needing to generate a new token every heartbeat (i.e.: second) for every app, but the apps can still be using the old token. The token is only checked upon connection to the RM. The apps don't reconnect when sent a new token, and the RM doesn't force them to reconnect by closing the connection.