Uploaded image for project: 'Hive'
  1. Hive
  2. HIVE-7092

Insert overwrite should not delete the original directory

    XMLWordPrintableJSON

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Closed
    • Priority: Major
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: None
    • Fix Version/s: 0.14.0
    • Component/s: None
    • Labels:
      None

      Description

      Today the implementation of "insert overwrite" table or partition deletes the entire directory of the table/partition recursively using the HDFS shell (-rmr) and then re-creates it.

      This makes it get rid of certain user-set attributes of the directory, like permission, owner, group, and will become more important with introduction of HDFS extended-ACL's.

        Attachments

        1. HIVE-7092.patch
          7 kB
          Szehon Ho

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              • Assignee:
                szehon Szehon Ho
                Reporter:
                szehon Szehon Ho
              • Votes:
                0 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                3 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved: