Uploaded image for project: 'Hadoop Common'
  1. Hadoop Common
  2. HADOOP-4124

Changing priority of a job should be available in CLI and available on the web UI only along with the Kill Job actions

    XMLWordPrintableJSON

    Details

    • Type: Improvement
    • Status: Closed
    • Priority: Major
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: None
    • Fix Version/s: 0.19.0
    • Component/s: None
    • Labels:
      None
    • Hadoop Flags:
      Reviewed

      Description

      Currently, a job's priority can only be changed from the job tracker web UI. However, it is really similar (if not as destructive) as killing a job, in the sense that is should not be exposed publicly. The use case for this kind of restriction is where Hadoop is shared in production environments by different users, and they should not be allowed to change another user's priority. At the same time, it should be possible to still change a job's priority in some manner, if a user is authorized to do so, and the CLI can provide a way to do this, along with mechanisms introduced for ACLs in HADOOP-3698.

        Attachments

        1. HADOOP-4124.patch
          22 kB
          Hemanth Yamijala
        2. HADOOP-4124.patch
          22 kB
          Hemanth Yamijala
        3. HADOOP-4124.patch
          22 kB
          Hemanth Yamijala
        4. HADOOP-4124.patch
          22 kB
          Hemanth Yamijala

          Activity

            People

            • Assignee:
              yhemanth Hemanth Yamijala
              Reporter:
              yhemanth Hemanth Yamijala
            • Votes:
              0 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              2 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              • Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved: