If an S3A rename() operation fails partway through, such as when the user doesn't have permissions to delete the source files after copying to the destination, then the s3guard view of the world ends up inconsistent. In particular the sequence
(assuming src/file* is a list of files file1...file10 and read only to caller)
- create file rename src/file1 dest/ ; expect AccessDeniedException in the delete, dest/file1 will exist
- delete file dest/file1
- rename src/file* dest/ ; expect failure
- list dest; you will not see dest/file1
You will not see file1 in the listing, presumably because it will have a tombstone marker and the update at the end of the rename() didn't take place: the old data is still there.