Affects Version/s: 4.12
Fix Version/s: 4.12
Security Level: Public (Anyone can view this level - this is the default.)
This is a continuation of work developed on PR #2425 (
CLOUDSTACK-10240), which provided root admins an override mechanism to move volumes between storage systems types (local/shared) even when the disk offering would not allow such operation. To complete the work, we will now provide a way for administrators to enter a new disk offering that can reflect the new placement of the volume. We will add an extra parameter to allow the root admin inform a new disk offering for the volume. Therefore, when the volume is being migrated, it will be possible to replace the disk offering to reflect the new placement of the volume.
The API method will have the following parameters:
- storageid (required)
- volumeid (required)
- newdiskofferingid (optional) – this is the new parameter
The expected behavior is the following:
- If “newdiskofferingid” is not provided the current behavior is maintained. Override mechanism will also keep working as we have seen so far.
- If the “newdiskofferingid” is provided by the admin, we will execute the following checks
- new disk offering mode (local/shared) must match the target storage mode. If it does not match, an exception will be thrown and the operator will receive a message indicating the problem.
- we will check if the new disk offering tags match the target storage tags. If it does not match, an exception will be thrown and the operator will receive a message indicating the problem.
- check if the target storage has the capacity for the new volume. If it does not have enough space, then an exception is thrown and the operator will receive a message indicating the problem.
- check if the size of the volume is the same as the size of the new disk offering. If it is not the same, we will ALLOW the change of the service offering, and a warning message will be logged.
We execute the change of the Disk offering as soon as the migration of the volume finishes. Therefore, if an error happens during the migration and the volume remains in the original storage system, the disk offering will keep reflecting this situation