By default, when an entity is deleted - its associated classifications which have been propagated to downstream entities will be retained.
This JIRA provides a boolean option when adding a new classification to an entity - "Remove Propagations on Entity Delete"
When this flag is set to :
TRUE - Propagated classifications are removed during entity delete
FALSE - Propagated classifications are retained during entity delete