Linux user home directories are not currently deleted when the user is deleted. This is a potential security risk. Image creation users' directories aren't deleted. Files with private information may be left in the image when it is captured.
The home directories should be deleted. Care must be taken to make sure the home directory resides on the local disk and is not on a network share.