Uploaded image for project: 'Solr'
  1. Solr
  2. SOLR-15706

After an incremental back up, the pugeUnused operation incorrectly deletes all backed up data

Attach filesAttach ScreenshotVotersWatch issueWatchersCreate sub-taskLinkCloneUpdate Comment AuthorReplace String in CommentUpdate Comment VisibilityDelete Comments
    XMLWordPrintableJSON

Details

    • Bug
    • Status: Closed
    • Blocker
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • 8.9
    • 9.0, 8.11
    • Backup/Restore
    • None

    Description

      Reproduction Steps: # Create a collection 'foo',

      1. Insert small number of documents (say 10) into collection 'foo'
      2. Backup collection 'foo' using collections API (/admin/collections?action=BACKUP), this should result in creation of backupId 0
      3. Backup collection 'foo' again using collections API (/admin/collections?action=BACKUP), this should result in creation of backupId 1
      4. Delete backupId 0 for collection 'foo' (/admin/collections?action=DELETEBACKUP?backupId=0)
      5. Run delete backup for collection 'foo' again, this time with 'purgeUnused=true' (/admin/collections?action=DELETEBACKUP?purgeUnused=true)
      6. Restore from backupId 1 which still exists to collection 'bar' (/admin/collections?action=RESTORE)

      Expected Result: # Restored collection 'bar' has 10 documents in it

      Actual Result: # Restored collection 'bar' has 0 documents in it

      We found in our testing that when purge is used it incorrectly deletes all backup data instead of just the unused data as it supposed to.

      Attachments

        Activity

          This comment will be Viewable by All Users Viewable by All Users
          Cancel

          People

            gerlowskija Jason Gerlowski
            DonP Don
            Votes:
            0 Vote for this issue
            Watchers:
            6 Start watching this issue

            Dates

              Created:
              Updated:
              Resolved:

              Slack

                Issue deployment