Details

    • Type: New Feature New Feature
    • Status: Closed
    • Priority: Major Major
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: None
    • Fix Version/s: 2.3
    • Component/s: User Management
    • Labels:
      None
    • Environment:
      blogs.sun.com
    • Customer(s):
      blogs.sun.com

      Description

      It should be possible to mark a user as "inactive" so that the user cannot log in, but the user's content is still available through Roller.

      This might be as easy as removing the user's "editor" entry from the rolleruser table.

      [lskrocki] Also:

      • Remove the inactive/retired blog from the recent posts, hot blogs, planets, and technorati 100
      • Preserve the ability to reactivate an inactive/retired weblog
      • Disable comments
      • Mark the weblog as "[Organization name] Alumni" for bloggers who have left the organization. - configurable by the site admin

        Activity

        Hide
        linda skrocki added a comment -

        Verified. Closing the issue.

        Show
        linda skrocki added a comment - Verified. Closing the issue.
        Hide
        David Johnson added a comment -

        This feature appears to be working fine on BSC. I have a blog with comments enabled. If I go to the Preferences:Settings page, uncheck the "Weblog is Active" and save I see a message "Turned comments off for inactive weblog." If I then go to my blog I see that comments are not allowed.

        Show
        David Johnson added a comment - This feature appears to be working fine on BSC. I have a blog with comments enabled. If I go to the Preferences:Settings page, uncheck the "Weblog is Active" and save I see a message "Turned comments off for inactive weblog." If I then go to my blog I see that comments are not allowed.
        Hide
        linda skrocki added a comment -

        Comments are still enabled when a blog is deactivated.

        Show
        linda skrocki added a comment - Comments are still enabled when a blog is deactivated.
        Hide
        David Johnson added a comment -

        Code has been committed for 2.3 that sets a blog's "Comments Allowed" flag to false when the blog is set to inactive.

        Show
        David Johnson added a comment - Code has been committed for 2.3 that sets a blog's "Comments Allowed" flag to false when the blog is set to inactive.
        Hide
        linda skrocki added a comment -

        All of the above reqs were met w/ the feature delivered in 2.2, but 'disable comments' on all existing entries.

        Show
        linda skrocki added a comment - All of the above reqs were met w/ the feature delivered in 2.2, but 'disable comments' on all existing entries.
        Hide
        David Johnson added a comment -

        It's already possible to disable a Roller user so that they can no longer login.

        What we need is a way to mark an old weblog as inactive. So, I'm going to add a new field called INACTIVE to the WEBSITE table and add a field to the Preferences:Settings page so that a user can set that flag. If a weblog is marked INACTIVE then:

        • the weblog will not be include in the hot blogs list
        • the weblog will be removed from the planet on the next run of the SyncWebsitesTask
        • posts from the weblog will be exluded from the front page of the site

        So the process for retiring user will be:
        1) Use User Admin page to disable user
        2) Use the User Admin page to visit each of the user's blogs and set them to be inactive

        Show
        David Johnson added a comment - It's already possible to disable a Roller user so that they can no longer login. What we need is a way to mark an old weblog as inactive. So, I'm going to add a new field called INACTIVE to the WEBSITE table and add a field to the Preferences:Settings page so that a user can set that flag. If a weblog is marked INACTIVE then: the weblog will not be include in the hot blogs list the weblog will be removed from the planet on the next run of the SyncWebsitesTask posts from the weblog will be exluded from the front page of the site So the process for retiring user will be: 1) Use User Admin page to disable user 2) Use the User Admin page to visit each of the user's blogs and set them to be inactive
        Hide
        ozan yigit added a comment -

        alumni feature, possibly with a tab of its own would be a very good addition.

        Show
        ozan yigit added a comment - alumni feature, possibly with a tab of its own would be a very good addition.
        Hide
        David Johnson added a comment -

        Workaround: reset the user's password

        Show
        David Johnson added a comment - Workaround: reset the user's password

          People

          • Assignee:
            David Johnson
            Reporter:
            David Johnson
          • Votes:
            2 Vote for this issue
            Watchers:
            2 Start watching this issue

            Dates

            • Created:
              Updated:
              Resolved:

              Development