Apache Roller
  1. Apache Roller
  2. ROL-1343

Clicking the Full Preview button should execute "Save as Draft" logic so user doesn't lose their post

    Details

    • Type: Improvement Improvement
    • Status: Open
    • Priority: Major Major
    • Resolution: Unresolved
    • Affects Version/s: 3.1
    • Fix Version/s: None
    • Labels:
      None
    • Browser Version:
      Firefox
    • Customer(s):
      raibledesigns.com
    • Database:
      MySQL 3.23
    • JDK Version:
      1.5
    • O/S Version:
      Linux

      Description

      To reproduce, create a new entry. Save it as a draft. On the resulting screen, add more text to the entry and then click "Full Preview". The preview screen doesn't contain the added text and if the user clicks "Edit" the text is not their either. If they click "back" on their browser, it may be there, but we should do everything we can do preserve edited posts. Losing a post is the worst thing that can happen to a blogger IMO.

        Activity

        Hide
        David Johnson added a comment -

        In my setup on Firefox, the preview page comes up in a new tab in my browser. The new text that I added is not lost, it's still there in the original tab.

        In Safari and IE7, the preview comes up in a new browser window and again the new text is not lost because it is present in the original window.

        I don't have a problem with that behavior.

        Show
        David Johnson added a comment - In my setup on Firefox, the preview page comes up in a new tab in my browser. The new text that I added is not lost, it's still there in the original tab. In Safari and IE7, the preview comes up in a new browser window and again the new text is not lost because it is present in the original window. I don't have a problem with that behavior.
        Hide
        David Johnson added a comment -

        I believe this feature is working as designed in Roller 3.1, so I'm taking this off the fix-for 3.1 list.

        If you want to change this behavior, please propose a solution to roller-dev list.

        Show
        David Johnson added a comment - I believe this feature is working as designed in Roller 3.1, so I'm taking this off the fix-for 3.1 list. If you want to change this behavior, please propose a solution to roller-dev list.
        Hide
        Matt Raible added a comment -

        The opening in a new tab/window works fine. However, if you edit an entry (after saving it so you can see the Full Preview button) and then click Full Preview, it won't show the changes you made. It's merely a workflow thing that users will have to learn - you always have to click Save as Draft before Full Preview. It'd be nice if clicking Save as Draft wasn't required to see changes when clicking Full Preview.

        Show
        Matt Raible added a comment - The opening in a new tab/window works fine. However, if you edit an entry (after saving it so you can see the Full Preview button) and then click Full Preview, it won't show the changes you made. It's merely a workflow thing that users will have to learn - you always have to click Save as Draft before Full Preview. It'd be nice if clicking Save as Draft wasn't required to see changes when clicking Full Preview.

          People

          • Assignee:
            Roller Unassigned
            Reporter:
            Matt Raible
          • Votes:
            1 Vote for this issue
            Watchers:
            1 Start watching this issue

            Dates

            • Created:
              Updated:

              Development