Uploaded image for project: 'Hadoop HDFS'
  1. Hadoop HDFS
  2. HDFS-5474

Deletesnapshot can make Namenode in safemode on NN restarts.

VotersWatch issueWatchersCreate sub-taskLinkCloneUpdate Comment AuthorReplace String in CommentUpdate Comment VisibilityDelete Comments
    XMLWordPrintableJSON

Details

    • Bug
    • Status: Closed
    • Major
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • None
    • 2.3.0
    • snapshots
    • None
    • Reviewed

    Description

      When we deletesnapshot, we are deleting the blocks associated to that snapshot and after that we do logsync to editlog about deleteSnapshot.
      There can be a chance that blocks removed from blocks map but before log sync if there is BR , NN may finds that block does not exist in blocks map and may invalidate that block. As part HB, invalidation info also can go. After this steps if Namenode shutdown before actually do logsync, On restart it will still consider that snapshot Inodes and expect blocks to report from DN.

      Simple solution is, we should simply move down that blocks removal after logsync only. Similar to delete op.

      Attachments

        1. HDFS-5474-002.patch
          2 kB
          Vinayakumar B
        2. HDFS-5474-001.patch
          2 kB
          sathish

        Issue Links

        Activity

          This comment will be Viewable by All Users Viewable by All Users
          Cancel

          People

            sathish.gurram sathish
            umamaheswararao Uma Maheswara Rao G
            Votes:
            0 Vote for this issue
            Watchers:
            7 Start watching this issue

            Dates

              Created:
              Updated:
              Resolved:

              Issue deployment