Uploaded image for project: 'CouchDB'
  1. CouchDB
  2. COUCHDB-1141

Docs deleted via PUT or POST do not have contents removed.

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Resolved
    • Priority: Major
    • Resolution: Won't Fix
    • Affects Version/s: None
    • Fix Version/s: None
    • Component/s: Database Core
    • Labels:
      None
    • Environment:

      All

    • Skill Level:
      Regular Contributors Level (Easy to Medium)

      Description

      If a doc is deleted via -X DELETE, the resulting doc contains only id/rev_deleted:true. However, if a doc is deleted via PUT or POST, through adding _deleted:true, the entire contents of the doc remains stored. Even after compaction, the original document contents remain.

      This issue is causing databases with large docs to become bloated over time, as the original doc contents remain in the database even after being deleted.

        Attachments

          Activity

            People

            • Assignee:
              rnewson Robert Newson
              Reporter:
              wendall911 Wendall Cada
            • Votes:
              0 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              1 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              • Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved: